terewvirgin.blogg.se

How to download maps from gps file depot
How to download maps from gps file depot






That is the GPX file from McR in some type of Garmin Track format (I believe because the way McR saves the routes are by creating a bunch of lat/longs and somehow stringing them together and the “Save to GPX” button on the McR site assembles those together saves them as a GPX file which Garmin Base Camp apparently considers them to all be one “track”.Ĥ) Anyway, highlight the track that’s sitting down there (double click on it to see the map appear) in the bottom left and then right click and select “Create Route From Track” and it will bring up a box where you can name it. It will probably have a name like “Track 008” in there. Navigate to the GPX file you downloaded (probably in Downloads) and click OK.Ģ) Then (AND THIS IS CRUCIAL) you must have the Garmin Device plugged into the computer (I guess the Base Camp uses the detailed map info off of the device (I think you might be able to buy detailed map info for the Base Camp on the desktop computer but haven’t looked into that yet)).ģ) Then click on the McR route name you want to get to your GPS device in a usable format and it should appear in the bottom left side bar “My Collection” area. Then highlight (in the left column) in the “On My Computer” area the “My Collection” briefcase icon and then go to file/import into My Collection.

#How to download maps from gps file depot download

But, it took me a while to figure out the steps I came up with so I hope it saves you some of the pain and time I had to spend figuring it out for my set up.ġ) To download a map/route off of McR and use on the Garmin, go to the route page, click on the download GPX and start Garmin Base Camp. I'm not a GPS device help desk so I can't guarantee they are fool proof nor can I offer you troubleshooting tips beyond what I'm providing below. I'm pasting these below as sort of extra help. Note: I typed up some instructions that I use to download GPX files from the site and transfer them to my GPS device.

how to download maps from gps file depot

The vast majority of routes on are multipoint routes because very rarely can a nice motorcycle route be described with a simple point A to point B level of detail so make sure you are using a device that can support ‘multipoint maps.’ Hope that helps! Some only allow simple 2 point maps … e.g., point A to point B based maps … I personally bought a GPS device (a Garmin Nuvi 52) a while ago and found out the hard way that it did not support ‘multipoint maps.’ I ended up having to sell that device on eBay and since then I got a newer device that supports multipoint and it does work now (a Garmin Zumo 390LM).

how to download maps from gps file depot how to download maps from gps file depot

The TRICKY PART however is that if you are using a GPS device, that device has to support what they call ‘multipoint routes’ or ‘multipoint maps’. From there you can import it into your GPS device or an online GPX editing website like (that one is handy because you can covert the output to a lot of different formats including a Google maps file). Then the map’s GPX file will be downloaded to wherever your computer is set up to download files to (probably a folder called downloads or something like that). All you have to do is go to the page describing the route you are interested and click on the red download GPX file button that shows up in the bottom right of all route maps (see image below). supports the industry standard for map files which are referred to as GPX files.






How to download maps from gps file depot